After much debate, and being kept awake at night with the thought, I have indeed started a blog.

A few things to cover then…

First, I want this to be a safe place, a place where I can share and a place where others feel they can share if they wish. That being said, there are a few things I would like to keep private, i.e. the names of my children! I believe that while I am a consenting adult using the internet, and chances are that you are as well, my children are not. In the past twenty years or so technology has blossomed and boomed in ways that I’m sure many of us never really imagined (even Science Fiction writers). However, that is a relatively short time in the grand scheme of things, and to be honest, we’re not real sure what all of that means yet. So in the interest of my family’s safety and privacy, please refer to my little guys as the Buddy (the older) and the Biddy (the younger).

Secondly, if you want to comment on a blog post you will need to do so by giving a valid email address. I welcome new people, but in the internet age some major interpersonal communication skills have been lost. Giving your email is a way of keeping you accountable for the things you say. I’m not going to email and scold you or anything if you say something out of line, but I very well may delete your comment. The internet can make people brave (sitting there behind a computer screen) but it does not necessarily make anyone smart.

Speaking of smart, many of you who know me personally know that I value logic and good argumentation. So if there is a rare occasion when you may disagree or want to challenge something in one of my posts, you are more than welcome to do so. But remember, if you do not use your brain and think it through logically and instead post an emotionally charged response that has no logical validity, I will most likely not even entertain the idea.

Thanks for bearing with me through that one… I know it’s long, but I figure, since I’m starting out on this journey, I should start with some basics. See you next time!

